分析 市場 微博
2023 年 4 月 11 日

Web3 1 年第一季度籌款報告:環境和博彩趨勢

簡單來說

2023 年第一季度,108 web3 初創公司總共籌集了 814,287,823 美元的投資。

人工智能開始吸引更多投資者的關注,而元宇宙初創公司並沒有受到太多關注。

Web3 1 年第一季度籌款報告:環境和博彩趨勢

Metaverse Post 介紹 2023 年第一季度籌款報告。在本報告中,我們探討了加密貨幣和 web3 行業並確定 2023 年第一季度最引人注目的行業和關鍵參與者。

第一季度發生的幾起事件徹底震撼了加密行業的現狀,特別是包括矽谷銀行、Silvergate 銀行、Signature 銀行和瑞士信貸在內的幾家銀行的倒閉,我們還沒有看到其將產生的全面影響。對行業有長遠影響。 毫無疑問,人工智能的蓬勃發展 OpenAI發布了新的預訓練模型, GPT-4,也影響了加密募款活動的狀態。 

總體而言,2023 年第一季度,共有 108 個 web3 公司總共籌集了 814,287,823 美元。 這些初創公司分為幾個子類別:元宇宙、遊戲、人工智能、社交、AR 和 VR 等。 其中,56,301,000 個 Metaverse 項目籌集了 XNUMX 美元。 二十五 NFT相關公司在 79,040,000 年前三個月共籌集了 2023 美元。  

值得注意的是,到 2022 年,有 348 家公司專門從事 NFT、metaverse、遊戲、AI、VR 和 AR,總共籌集了 7,164,997,888 美元。 結果比 4.8 年增加了 2021 億美元。 

趨勢 web3  - 按類別分類的熱門項目

2023年第一季度,95 web3 初創公司總共籌集了 727,287,823.95 美元。 1 年第一季度,遊戲和環境行業處於領先地位。

環境

環保創業 碳地 收到 來自九家銀行的 45 萬美元。 BBVA、BNP Paribas、Standard Chartered、CIBC、Itaú Unibanco、NatWest、National Australia Bank、SMBC 和 UBS 參與了該公司的戰略融資。 

糧鏈,一個具有區塊鍊和物聯網驅動解決方案的農業交易平台, 已籌集金額 在 Overstock、Pelion Venture Partners 和楊百翰大學支持的一輪融資中獲得 29 萬美元。 

賭博 

總體而言,遊戲類別有 23 家初創公司籌集了 201,720,473 美元。 這個數字並不像去年那麼令人印象深刻,當時該行業 收到 $ 4,487.3萬元。

科幻太空 MMO EVE Online 的創造者, CCP遊戲 是鉛,具有 已籌集金額 由 Andreessen Horowitz 領投的種子輪融資 40 萬美元。 Makers Fund、BITKRAFT、HASHED、Kingsway Capital 和 Nexon 都是參與者。 

Web3 足球遊戲平台 比賽日 收到 在由 Courtside Ventures、Capricorn Investment Group、Greylock、HackVC 和 Horizo​​ns Ventures 支持的種子輪融資中獲得 21 萬美元。 

印度品種 web3 遊戲工作室 奎托斯工作室 已籌集金額 在 Accel 領投的種子輪融資中獲得 20 萬美元。 其他參與者包括 Prosus Ventures、Courtside Ventures、Nexus Venture Partners 和 Nazara Technologies。 該公司還收購了 Yield Guild Games DAO 的子 DAO IndiGG。

元宇宙

專注於元宇宙的遊戲工作室 阿瓦隆公司 已籌集金額 在 Bitkraft Ventures、Hashed、Delphi Digital 和 Mechanism Capital 領投的一輪融資中獲得 13 萬美元。 Coinbase Ventures、Yield Guild Games、Merit Circle、Avocado Guild 和 Morningstar Ventures 都是支持者。 

用戶生成的內容 Metaverse 引擎 創造者 已籌集金額 由 Andreessen Horowitz 領投的 A 輪融資 10 萬美元。 

基於以太坊的 MMORG NFT 遊戲 萬維網 收到 由 Pantera Capital 領投的 A 輪融資 10 萬美元。

消息

Web3 信息平台 OP3N 收到 由娛樂巨頭 Animoca Brands 領投的 A 輪融資 28 萬美元。 其他參與者包括 Dragonfly Capital、SuperScrypt、Connect Ventures、Republic Crypto、暴雪基金、Galaxy Digital 和 Warner Music Interactive。 

群聊協議和應用程序 城鎮 收到 由 Andreessen Horowitz 領投的 A 輪融資 25.5 萬美元。 

隱私

Beldex,一家為去中心化應用程序提供隱私解決方案的公司, 收到 25.5 萬美元來自 web3 投資公司 DWF Labs。

錢包

加密錢包 比特幣 收到 來自 Bitget 的 30 萬美元。 

舊金山 web3 移動應用程序和錢包公司 克雷蘇斯 已籌集金額 25 萬美元的 A 輪融資由 Liberty City Ventures、JetBlue Ventures、Franklin Templeton Investments、Marc Benioff、Cameron 和 Tyler Winklevoss、Craft Ventures 等領投。 

Social Network

普拉實驗室 已籌集金額 種子輪融資 32 萬美元。 這家專注於人工智能的初創公司正在開發下一代社交平台。 

簡單的公司,它開發了一個“社交”加密錢包, 已籌集金額 種子輪融資 14.2 萬美元。 Lobby Capital、6th Man Ventures、Relay Ventures、Tapestry VC、Upside 和 Scribble Ventures 都是參與者。 

時尚

數碼時裝店 連衣裙X 已籌集金額 Greenfield 領投的 A 輪融資 15 萬美元。 Slow Ventures、Artemis Fund、Red Dao 和 Warner Music 支持這輪融資。

情報

分析平台 梅特里卡 收到 由 Neotribe Ventures 領投的擴展 A 輪融資 14 萬美元。 Coinbase Ventures、Samsung NEXT 和 Nyca Partners 是其他支持者。 

安全性

第三節, 一家提供安全啟動審計和自動化解決方案的安全公司, 已籌集金額 由 Multicoin Capital 領投的種子輪融資 10 萬美元。 其他參與者包括 Sanctor Capital 和 Essence Venture Capital。 

AR / VR

馬瓦里,一家致力於為元宇宙製作 3D 內容的 AR 和 VR 初創公司, 收到 在 Blockchange Ventures 和 Decasonic 領投的一輪融資中獲得 6.5 萬美元。 其他參與者包括 Abies Ventures、Accord Ventures、Anfield、Outlier Ventures 和 Primal Capital。 

媒體

故事公司,一個粉絲交流的平台, 已籌集金額 由 Collab + Currency 和 Patron 共同領投的種子輪融資 6 萬美元。 Blockchange Ventures、Floodgate Ventures、Sfermion 和 Flamingo DAO 是其他參與者。 

人工智能趨勢 

2022年第四季度,投資者將目光轉向了人工智能初創企業。 今年,這一趨勢仍然存在,大公司將人工智能應用到他們的產品中。 附帶說明一下,初創公司開始使用人工智能敘事來吸引更多資金。 

2023 年第一季度,四 web3 人工智能驅動的公司獲得了 48,550,000 美元。 Plai Labs 在種子輪融資中獲得了 32 萬美元,緊隨其後的是 Sortium,在由 Arca 領投的種子輪融資中籌集了 7,750,000 萬美元。

趨勢 NFT

在2023的第一季度, 17 NFT相關項目 收到 78,040,000 美元。 

超塑性 處於領先地位,擁有 已籌集金額 亞馬遜 Alexa Fund 領投的 Extended A 輪融資 20 萬美元。 投資方包括 Google Ventures、Galaxy Digital、Kering、Sony Japan 和 Animoca品牌.

NFT以-為中心的託管錢包 格里芬 收到 來自 Liberty City Ventures 的 7.5 萬美元, GameFi Ventures、Lavender Hill Capital Partners、Mind Fund、Animoca Ventures、LeadBlock Partners、Angel Hub、Brinc 和幾位天使投資者。 

發霉 已籌集金額 由 Citizen X 牽頭的一輪融資中獲得 6 萬美元。其他參與者包括 Distributed Global、Anagram、Taureon Capital、Infinity Ventures Crypto、Flow Ventures 和幾位天使投資人。

NFT 管理應用 金屬油墨 收到 在由 Guy Oseary、Gary Vaynerchuk、Ivan Soto-Wright 和其他知名天使投資人支持的種子輪融資中獲得 6 萬美元。 

夢幻體育遊戲平台 a木 已籌集金額 由 Sisu Game Ventures 領投的股權種子輪融資 5 萬美元。 Sfermion、2B Ventures、UOB Ventures、Signum Capital 和 Machame 都是投資者。  

3D虛擬人頭像編輯器 生命形式 已籌集金額 Geek Cartel 領投的 A 輪融資 5 萬美元。 其他投資者包括 KuCoin Labs、Foresight Ventures、DHVC、K24 Ventures 和 Another Worlds。

Web3 虛擬寵物遊戲 Neopets 元宇宙 收到 由 Polygon Ventures、Hashkey Capital 和暴雪投資的 4 萬美元融資 Avalanche 生態系統基金、IDG資本、網龍網絡。

客戶參與平台 隊列 已籌集金額 在 Axle Capital 和 IRIS 領投的種子輪融資中融資 3,490,000 美元。 其他參與者包括 Kima Ventures、3founders 和幾位天使投資人。

元宇宙土地銷售市場, 形而上學 收到 3 萬美元來自 1 次確認。 其他參與者包括 Volt Capital、Neon DAO、Flamingo DAO 和幾位天使投資人。 

NFT 貸款協議 紙模 收到 來自 Coinbase Ventures 的 3 萬美元。 

著名投資者

2023 年第一季度最活躍的投資者包括 Andreessen Horowitz、Bitget 和九家機構銀行。 

環保初創公司 Carbonplace 從九家傳統銀行獲得了 45 萬美元: BBVA、法國巴黎銀行、渣打銀行、CIBC、Itaú Unibanco、NatWest、澳大利亞國民銀行、SMBCUBS. 在這份名單中,只有三家機構銀行之前投資過加密公司。 

法國巴黎銀行 投資金融科技創新公司HQLAᵡ的B輪融資。 渣打銀行的投資組合包括以區塊鍊為動力的初創公司 Metaco 和 Ripple。 SMBC 日興證券 之前投資了 Kyash 的 D 系列,該公司提供來自日本的移動優先銀行服務。 

總部位於矽谷的風險投資公司 安德森霍洛維茨 在大型多人角色扮演遊戲開發商 CCP Games 的種子輪投資了 40 萬美元。 後者開發了科幻風格的遊戲 Eve Online。

此前三個月,a16z 還領投了群聊協議 Towns 的 A 輪融資和 Createra 的 A 輪融資。 

加密交換 位元 向加密錢包 BitKeep 投資 30 萬美元,並獲得該平台的控股權。

最活躍的元宇宙投資者

2023 年第一季度,元宇宙類別獲得 51,301,000 美元。 該行業並不像 2022 年那樣流行——三個月內只有 46 家 VC 基金和天使投資了它。 相比下, 在2022,該類別有 340 位獨立投資者參與,總投資額為 776.58 億美元。

Bitkraft Ventures、Hashed、Delphi Digital 和 Mechanism Capital 向 Avalon Corp. 投資了 13 萬美元。Coinbase Ventures、Yield Guild Games、Merit Circle、Avocado Guild 和 Morningstar Ventures 都是支持者。 

比特卡夫風險投資公司 是一家專注於遊戲的全球投資平台, web3和沈浸式技術。 其投資組合包括 Discord、Epic Games、Immutable 和 Avalon 等知名公司。 該基金專注於種子、A 輪和 B 輪遊戲相關初創公司。 

昏迷 是位於首爾和矽谷的區塊鏈專家和建設者團隊。 風險投資基金旨在通過協議經濟中的網絡建設,使去中心化未來的大規模採用成為可能。 Hashed 之前投資過 Ethereum、Decentraland、Axie Infinity 和其他知名公司。 

德爾福數碼 是一家獨立的研究公司。 該公司旨在建立專注於加密和數字資產的最佳機構級研究公司。 Delphi Digital 的投資組合包括 Illuvium、Yield Guild Games、Axie Infinity 和其他初創公司。 

機制資本 是一個加密貨幣和 web3- 總部位於德克薩斯州自由山的專注投資公司。 該基金此前曾投資過 NEAR Protocol、PleasrDAO 和 Yield Guild Games 等。 

安德森霍洛維茨 已在 Creatora 的 A 輪融資中投資 10 萬美元。 這家風險投資公司是領先的科技和加密貨幣投資者之一。 其產品組合包括 Airbnb、Pinterest、Facebook 和 Slack。

以加密貨幣為重點的風險投資基金 Pantera Capital 在 Worldwide Webb 的戰略輪融資中投資 10 萬美元。 該基金於2013年推出,投資了Circle、Arbitrum、Brave、Coinbase等知名公司。 

失敗

2023 年第一季度,由於傳統資產管理不專業和行業普遍恐慌,四家加密貨幣友好銀行倒閉。 

總部位於加州的加密貨幣為重點 銀門銀行 該銀行於 8 月 XNUMX 日關閉運營並進行清算。該銀行曾面臨多起訴訟,並因其在 FTX 的商業行為中的作用而受到質疑,FTX 在 Silvergate 持有其資產。  

“鑑於最近的行業和監管發展,Silvergate 認為,銀行業務的有序縮減和銀行的自願清算是最好的前進道路,”

寫了銀行 聲明.

10 月 XNUMX 日,加州金融保護部關閉 矽谷銀行. 一天前,風險投資基金及其客戶撤回了大約 42 億美元。 

在三月11, ,穩定幣 USDC 的發行者, 宣布 它在矽谷銀行的 3.3 億美元儲備中有 40 億美元。 宣布後,USDC 與法定美元“脫鉤”。 該事件在加密貨幣市場引起了恐慌和更多的猜測。 在撰寫本文時,1 USDC 等於 1 美元。 

總部位於紐約的 簽名銀行 Signature Bank 於 12 月 XNUMX 日被美國監管機構關閉。許多加密貨幣企業將資產存放在該銀行——然而,在 SVB 倒閉後,企業從 Signature Bank 撤出數十億美元,導致該銀行倒閉。 失敗後,Flagstar 銀行購買了大部分存款。 

瑞士總部 瑞士信貸(Credit Suisse) 倒閉是因為其客戶數月來一直在撤資。 全年取出超過100億美元。 失敗後,該銀行被瑞銀收購。 

結論 

2023 年第一季度以四家加密貨幣友好銀行倒閉和人工智能崛起而結束。 人工智能是新的“熱門”話題,區塊鏈支持的初創公司利用這一話題來吸引更多投資。 儘管風投似乎對元宇宙項目不太感興趣,但九家初創公司仍然成功吸引了 56,301,000 美元來構建虛擬體驗。 與往常一樣,遊戲類別籌集了大量資金; 風險投資機構關注了 23 家初創公司,總共籌集了 201,720,473 美元。 這 NFT 類別不再像以前那樣流行。 儘管如此,公司仍在繼續構建不可替代的代幣平台並尋找該技術的新應用。 

總體而言, web3 儘管熊市持續,今年的“失敗”,但行業參與者仍繼續建立和吸引資金,取得了令人印象深刻的業績。 第一季度收盤數量為 108 web3 公司從風險投資基金和天使投資者那裡籌集了 814,287,823 美元,其中包括 25 NFT 初創公司獲得 79,040,00 美元。 

閱讀更多:

免責聲明

在與線 信託專案指南,請注意,本頁提供的資訊無意且不應被解釋為法律、稅務、投資、財務或任何其他形式的建議。 重要的是,僅投資您可以承受損失的金額,並在有任何疑問時尋求獨立的財務建議。 如需了解更多信息,我們建議您參閱條款和條件以及發行人或廣告商提供的幫助和支援頁面。 MetaversePost 致力於提供準確、公正的報告,但市場狀況如有變更,恕不另行通知。

關於作者

瓦萊里婭是一名記者 Metaverse Post。 她專注於籌款、人工智能、元宇宙、數字時尚、 NFTs,以及一切 web3-有關的。 瓦萊裡婭擁有公共傳播碩士學位,並正在攻讀她的第二個專業——國際商業管理。 她將業餘時間用於攝影和時尚造型。 13 歲時,Valeria 創建了她的第一個時尚博客,這激發了她對新聞和時尚的熱情。 她居住在義大利北部,並經常在歐洲不同城市進行遠距工作。 您可以透過以下方式聯繫她 [電子郵件保護]

更多文章
瓦萊里婭·貢恰連科
瓦萊里婭·貢恰連科

瓦萊里婭是一名記者 Metaverse Post。 她專注於籌款、人工智能、元宇宙、數字時尚、 NFTs,以及一切 web3-有關的。 瓦萊裡婭擁有公共傳播碩士學位,並正在攻讀她的第二個專業——國際商業管理。 她將業餘時間用於攝影和時尚造型。 13 歲時,Valeria 創建了她的第一個時尚博客,這激發了她對新聞和時尚的熱情。 她居住在義大利北部,並經常在歐洲不同城市進行遠距工作。 您可以透過以下方式聯繫她 [電子郵件保護]

Hot Stories

新黎明-增加最大乘數的提案

by 格雷戈里·普多夫斯基
2024 年 5 月 27 日

法庭傳奇:克雷格·賴特的法律鬥爭與比特幣遺產之戰

by 維多利亞·帕爾奇克
2024 年 5 月 27 日
加入我們的時事通訊。
最新消息

從 Ripple 到大型綠色 DAO:加密貨幣專案如何為慈善事業做出貢獻

讓我們探索利用數位貨幣潛力進行慈善事業的措施。

了解更多

AlphaFold 3、Med-Gemini 等:2024 年人工智慧改變醫療保健的方式

人工智慧在醫療保健領域有多種表現形式,從發現新的遺傳相關性到增強機器人手術系統的能力…

了解更多
加入我們的創新技術社區
了解更多
阅读更多
新黎明-增加最大乘數的提案
故事和評論
新黎明-增加最大乘數的提案
2024 年 5 月 27 日
法庭傳奇:克雷格·賴特的法律鬥爭與比特幣遺產之戰
意見 商業 市場 軟體 專業技術
法庭傳奇:克雷格·賴特的法律鬥爭與比特幣遺產之戰
2024 年 5 月 27 日
SSV.Network 發布擴展路線圖,計劃在未來一年將硬體需求減少高達 90%
新聞報導 專業技術
SSV.Network 發布擴展路線圖,計劃在未來一年將硬體需求減少高達 90%
2024 年 5 月 27 日
Taiko 在以太坊主網上啟動,並為即將到來的 TAIKO 代幣分配開放分配檢查器
新聞報導 專業技術
Taiko 在以太坊主網上啟動,並為即將到來的 TAIKO 代幣分配開放分配檢查器
2024 年 5 月 27 日

Analysis Markets SMW
April 11, 2023

Web3 Fundraising Report for Q1 2023: Trends in Environment and Gaming

In Brief

In the first quarter of 2023, 108 web3 startups raised a total of $814,287,823 in investments.

Artificial intelligence started attracting more investors’ attention, while metaverse startups did not receive a lot of traction.

Web3 Fundraising Report for Q1 2023: Trends in Environment and Gaming

Metaverse Post introduces the Fundraising Report for the first quarter of 2023. In this report, we explore the trends in the crypto and web3 sectors and identify the most notable industries and key players of the first quarter of 2023.

In Q1, several events shook the state of the crypto industry to the core, especially the collapse of several banks, including Silicon Valley Bank, Silvergate Bank, Signature Bank, and Credit Suisse, and we are still yet to see the full impact it will have on the industry long term. Undoubtedly, the boom of AI and OpenAI’s release of the new pre-trained model, GPT-4, also impacted the state of crypto fundraisers. 

Overall, in the first quarter of 2023, a total of 108 web3 companies raised a total of $814,287,823. The startups are divided into several subcategories: metaverse, gaming, AI, social, AR and VR, and others. Out of these, nine metaverse projects raised $56,301,000. Twenty-five NFT-related companies raised a total of $79,040,000 in the first three months of 2023.  

Notably, in 2022, 348 companies specializing in NFT, metaverse, gaming, AI, VR, and AR, raised a total of $7,164,997,888. The result was $4.8 billion higher than in 2021. 

Trends in web3 top projects by category

In the first quarter of 2023, 95 web3 startups raised a total of $727,287,823.95. Gaming and environment industries are the leading ones in Q1 2023.

Environment

Environmental startup Carbonplace received $45 million from nine banks. BBVA, BNP Paribas, Standard Chartered, CIBC, Itaú Unibanco, NatWest, National Australia Bank, SMBC, and UBS participated in the company’s strategic round. 

GrainChain, an agricultural transaction platform with blockchain and IOT-powered solutions, raised $29 million in a round backed by Overstock, Pelion Venture Partners, and Brigham Young University. 

Gaming 

Overall, the gaming category saw 23 startups raise $201,720,473. The number is not as impressive as last year when the industry received $4,487.3 million.

The creators of sci-fi spacefaring MMO EVE Online, CCP Games is the lead, having raised $40 million in a seed round led by Andreessen Horowitz. Makers Fund, BITKRAFT, HASHED, Kingsway Capital, and Nexon are among the participants. 

Web3 soccer gaming platform Matchday received $21 million in a seed round backed by Courtside Ventures, Capricorn Investment Group, Greylock, HackVC, and Horizons Ventures. 

Indian web3 gaming studio Kratos Studio raised $20 million in a seed round led by Accel. Other participants include Prosus Ventures, Courtside Ventures, Nexus Venture Partners, and Nazara Technologies. The company also acquired a sub-DAO of Yield Guild Games DAO, IndiGG.

Metaverse

Metaverse-focused gaming studio Avalon Corp. raised $13 million in a round led by Bitkraft Ventures, Hashed, Delphi Digital, and Mechanism Capital. Coinbase Ventures, Yield Guild Games, Merit Circle, Avocado Guild, and Morningstar Ventures are among the backers. 

User-generated content metaverse engine Createra raised $10 million in a Series A round led by Andreessen Horowitz. 

Ethereum-based MMORG NFT game Worldwide Webb received $10 million in a Series A round led by Pantera Capital.

Messaging

Web3 messaging platform OP3N received $28 million in a Series A round led by the entertainment giant Animoca Brands. The other participants include Dragonfly Capital, SuperScrypt, Connect Ventures, Republic Crypto, Blizzard Fund, Galaxy Digital, and Warner Music Interactive. 

A group chat protocol and app Towns received $25.5 million in a Series A round led by Andreessen Horowitz. 

Privacy

Beldex, a company that provides privacy solutions for decentralized applications, received $25.5 million from web3 investment firm DWF Labs.

Wallet

Crypto wallet BitKeep received $30 million from Bitget. 

San Francisco-based web3 mobile app and wallet company Kresus raised $25 million in a Series A round led by Liberty City Ventures, JetBlue Ventures, Franklin Templeton Investments, Marc Benioff, Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss, Craft Ventures, and others. 

Social Network

Plai Labs raised $32 million in a seed round. The AI-focused startup is developing the next generation of social platforms. 

The Easy Company, which develops a “social” crypto wallet, raised $14.2 million in a seed round. Lobby Capital, 6th Man Ventures, Relay Ventures, Tapestry VC, Upside, and Scribble Ventures are among the participants. 

Fashion

Digital fashion store DressX raised $15 million in a Series A round led by Greenfield. Slow Ventures, the Artemis Fund, Red Dao, and Warner Music backed the round.

Intelligence

Analytics platform Metrika received $14 million in an extended Series A round led by Neotribe Ventures. Coinbase Ventures, Samsung NEXT, and Nyca Partners are among the other backers. 

Security

Sec3, a security firm that provides security launch audits and automated solutions, raised $10 million in a seed round led by Multicoin Capital. Among the other participants are Sanctor Capital and Essence Venture Capital. 

AR/VR

Mawari, an AR and VR startup that works on 3D content for the metaverse, received $6.5 million in a round led by Blockchange Ventures and Decasonic. Among the other participants are Abies Ventures, Accord Ventures, Anfield, Outlier Ventures, and Primal Capital. 

Media

StoryCo, a platform for fans to connect, raised $6 million in a seed round co-led by Collab + Currency and Patron. Blockchange Ventures, Floodgate Ventures, Sfermion, and Flamingo DAO are among the other participants. 

Trends in artificial intelligence 

In the fourth quarter of 2022, investors shifted their attention to artificial intelligence startups. This year, the trend is still on point, with major corporations implementing AI into their products. As a side note, startups started using the artificial intelligence narrative to attract more funds. 

In the first quarter of 2023, four web3 artificial intelligence-powered companies received $48,550,000. Plai Labs, which has received $32 million in a seed round, is followed by Sortium, which raised $7,750,000 in a seed round led by Arca.

Trends in NFT

In the first quarter of 2023, 17 NFT-related projects received $78,040,000. 

Superplastic is among the leaders, having raised $20 million in an Extended Series A round led by Amazon’s Alexa Fund. Among the investors are Google Ventures, Galaxy Digital, Kering, Sony Japan, and Animoca Brands.

NFT-centric custodial wallet Gryfyn received $7.5 million from Liberty City Ventures, GameFi Ventures, Lavender Hill Capital Partners, Mind Fund, Animoca Ventures, LeadBlock Partners, Angel Hub, Brinc, and several angel investors. 

Fungify raised $6 million in a round led by Citizen X. Among the other participants are Distributed Global, Anagram, Taureon Capital, Infinity Ventures Crypto, Flow Ventures, and several angel investors.

NFT management application Metalink received $6 million in a seed round backed by Guy Oseary, Gary Vaynerchuk, Ivan Soto-Wright, and other noted angel investors. 

Fantasy sports game platform Unagi raised $5 million in an equity-based seed round led by Sisu Game Ventures. Sfermion, 2B Ventures, UOB Ventures, Signum Capital, and Machame are among the investors.  

3D virtual human avatar editor Lifeform raised $5 million in a Series A round led by Geek Cartel. Among the other investors are KuCoin Labs, Foresight Ventures, DHVC, K24 Ventures, and Another Worlds.

Web3 virtual pet game Neopets Metaverse received $4 million in a round backed by Polygon Ventures, Hashkey Capital, Blizzard Avalanche Ecosystem Fund, IDG Capital, and NetDragon Websoft.

Customer engagement platform Cohort raised $3,490,000 in a seed round led by Axle Capital and IRIS. Among other participants are Kima Ventures, 3founders, and several angel investors.

Marketplace for metaverse land sales, Metahood received $3 million from 1confirmation. Among the other participants are Volt Capital, Neon DAO, Flamingo DAO, and several angel investors. 

NFT lending protocol PaprMeme received $3 million from Coinbase Ventures. 

Noted investors

Among the most active investors in the first quarter of 2023 are Andreessen Horowitz, Bitget, and nine institutional banks. 

Environmental startup Carbonplace received $45 million from nine traditional banks: BBVA, BNP Paribas, Standard Chartered, CIBC, Itaú Unibanco, NatWest, National Australia Bank, SMBC, and UBS. Out of this list, only three institutional banks have previously invested in crypto companies. 

BNP Paribas invested in the Series B round of financial technology innovation firm HQLAᵡ. Standard Chartered Bank’s portfolio includes blockchain-powered startups Metaco and Ripple. SMBC Nikko Securities previously invested in the Series D of Kyash, which provides mobile-first banking services from Japan. 

The Silicon Valley-based venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz invested $40 million in the seed round of massively multiplayer role-playing game developers CCP Games. The latter has developed the sci-fi-styled game Eve Online.

In the previous three months, a16z also led the Series A round of group chat protocol Towns and the Series A round of Createra. 

Crypto exchange Bitget invested $30 million in the crypto wallet BitKeep and acquired a controlling stake in the platform.

Most active metaverse investors

In the first quarter of 2023, the metaverse category received $51,301,000. The industry is not as trendy as in 2022 – only 46 VC funds and angels invested in it in three months. In comparison, in 2022, the category saw the participation of 340 unique investors, with a total result of $776.58 million in investments.

Bitkraft Ventures, Hashed, Delphi Digital, and Mechanism Capital invested $13 million in Avalon Corp. Coinbase Ventures, Yield Guild Games, Merit Circle, Avocado Guild, and Morningstar Ventures were among the backers. 

Bitkraft Ventures is a global investment platform focused on gaming, web3, and immersive technology. Its portfolio includes such noted companies as Discord, Epic Games, Immutable, and Avalon. The fund focuses on seed, Series A, and Series B gaming-related startups. 

Hashed is a team of blockchain experts and builders based in Seoul and Silicon Valley. The VC fund aims to empower mass adoption of the decentralized future through network building in the protocol economy. Hashed has previously invested in Ethereum, Decentraland, Axie Infinity, and other noted companies. 

Delphi Digital is an independent research firm. The company aims to build the best institutional-grade research firm focused on crypto and digital assets. Delphi Digital’s portfolio includes Illuvium, Yield Guild Games, Axie Infinity, and other startups. 

Mechanism Capital is a crypto- and web3-focused investment firm based in Liberty Hill, Texas. The fund has previously invested in NEAR Protocol, PleasrDAO, and Yield Guild Games, among others. 

Andreessen Horowitz has invested $10 million in the Series A round of Createra. The VC firm is one of the leading tech and crypto-focused investors. Its portfolio includes Airbnb, Pinterest, Facebook, and Slack.

The crypto-focused VC fund Pantera Capital invested $10 million in the strategic round of Worldwide Webb. Launched in 2013, the fund has invested in Circle, Arbitrum, Brave, Coinbase, and other well-known companies. 

Fails

In the first quarter of 2023, four crypto-friendly banks collapsed due to the unprofessional management of traditional assets and general panic in the sector. 

California-based crypto-focused Silvergate Bank shut down operations and liquidated on March 8. The bank had faced several lawsuits and was questioned for its role in the business practices of FTX, which held its assets in Silvergate.  

“In light of recent industry and regulatory developments, Silvergate believes that an orderly wind-down of Bank operations and a voluntary liquidation of the Bank is the best path forward,”

wrote the bank in a statement.

On March 10, the California Department of Financial Protection closed Silicon Valley Bank. A day before, approximately $42 billion was withdrawn by VC funds and their clients. 

On March 11, Circle, the issuer of stablecoin USDC, announced that it had $3.3 billion out of $40 billion of its reserves in Silicon Valley Bank. After the announcement, USDC “depegged” from the fiat dollar. The incident caused panic and additional speculation within the crypto market. At the moment of writing, 1 USDC equals 1 US dollar. 

New York-based Signature Bank was closed by United States regulators on March 12. Many cryptocurrency businesses held their assets in the bank – however, after the collapse of SVB, companies withdrew billions from Signature Bank, which led to the bank’s collapse. Following the failure, Flagstar Bank bought the majority of its deposits. 

Switzerland-based Credit Suisse collapsed because its clients had been pulling funds out for months. Over $100 billion was taken out throughout the year. After the failure, the bank was purchased by UBS. 

Conclusion 

The first quarter of 2023 concludes with the collapse of four crypto-friendly banks and the rise of AI. Artificial intelligence is the new “hot” topic, and blockchain-backed startups use the narrative to attract more investment. While it seems VCs are less interested in metaverse projects, nine startups still managed to attract $56,301,000 to build virtual experiences. The gaming category, as usual, has raised a significant amount; VCs have paid attention to 23 startups, which raised a total of $201,720,473. The NFT category is not as trending as before. Still, companies continue building non-fungible token platforms and finding new applications for this technology. 

Overall, the web3 sector has made an impressive performance, and industry players continue building and attracting funds despite the ongoing bear market and the “fails” of the year. The first quarter closes with 108 web3 companies raising $814,287,823 from venture capital funds and angel investors, including 25 NFT startups receiving $79,040,00. 

Read more:

Disclaimer

In line with the Trust Project guidelines, please note that the information provided on this page is not intended to be and should not be interpreted as legal, tax, investment, financial, or any other form of advice. It is important to only invest what you can afford to lose and to seek independent financial advice if you have any doubts. For further information, we suggest referring to the terms and conditions as well as the help and support pages provided by the issuer or advertiser. MetaversePost is committed to accurate, unbiased reporting, but market conditions are subject to change without notice.

About The Author

Valeria is a reporter for Metaverse Post. She focuses on fundraises, AI, metaverse, digital fashion, NFTs, and everything web3-related. Valeria has a Master’s degree in Public Communications and is getting her second Major in International Business Management. She dedicates her free time to photography and fashion styling. At the age of 13, Valeria created her first fashion-focused blog, which developed her passion for journalism and style. She is based in northern Italy and often works remotely from different European cities. You can contact her at [email protected]

More articles
Valeria Goncharenko
Valeria Goncharenko

Valeria is a reporter for Metaverse Post. She focuses on fundraises, AI, metaverse, digital fashion, NFTs, and everything web3-related. Valeria has a Master’s degree in Public Communications and is getting her second Major in International Business Management. She dedicates her free time to photography and fashion styling. At the age of 13, Valeria created her first fashion-focused blog, which developed her passion for journalism and style. She is based in northern Italy and often works remotely from different European cities. You can contact her at [email protected]

Hot Stories
Join Our Newsletter.
Latest News

From Ripple to The Big Green DAO: How Cryptocurrency Projects Contribute to Charity

Let's explore initiatives harnessing the potential of digital currencies for charitable causes.

Know More

AlphaFold 3, Med-Gemini, and others: The Way AI Transforms Healthcare in 2024

AI manifests in various ways in healthcare, from uncovering new genetic correlations to empowering robotic surgical systems ...

Know More
Read More
Read more
Backed Partners With Lisk To Promote RWA Adoption In Emerging Markets
Business News Report Technology
Backed Partners With Lisk To Promote RWA Adoption In Emerging Markets
July 25, 2024
Blockchain Behind the Wheel: Toyota’s Ambitious Plan to Bring Ethereum Technology to Your Vehicle
Opinion Business Lifestyle Markets Software Technology
Blockchain Behind the Wheel: Toyota’s Ambitious Plan to Bring Ethereum Technology to Your Vehicle
July 25, 2024
Crypto Exchange AscendEX Launches Gold Standard And Playable Coin Memecoins For Trading
Markets News Report Technology
Crypto Exchange AscendEX Launches Gold Standard And Playable Coin Memecoins For Trading
July 25, 2024
Ring Protocol Announces Launch Of Its New DEX Aggregator RingX
Markets News Report Technology
Ring Protocol Announces Launch Of Its New DEX Aggregator RingX
July 25, 2024